From B.B. King to Ray Charles

Stage of the CCBC Jazz Fest final has received myths of international music


It would not be exaggeration to call the address of the CCBC Jazz Fest final legendary. Founded 25 years ago, the Bourbon Street Music Club in Moema was inaugurated by blues master B.B. King, who considered the place his second home. In 1995, it was the turn of singer and pianist Ray Charles to do a historical concert and celebrate his 65th birthday on stage. Bourbon Street was named after New Orleans’ famous street, and even featured artists such as Nina Simone, George Benson, John Pizzarelli, and Canadian Diana Krall.


This is the ideal mythical atmosphere to host the last stage of the CCBC Jazz Fest, which has been revealing talents and driving the Brazilian music scene. In the final of September 30, the band selected by the audience – in total, more than 42 thousand votes online – and four chosen by the technical jury, composed of consecrated names, among them Roberto Menescal, Bianca Gismonti and Edgard Radesca, will go up on the stage.


Initiatives such as the CCBC Jazz Fest are part of a strategy to expand the relationship between Brazil and Canada, creating new experiences, stimulating culture and presenting the name of the CCBC beyond the Rio-São Paulo axis. In all, there were 125 registered bands, from 11 Brazilian states, with excellent technical quality and creativity. The CCBC Jazz Fest has already been featured on Nova Brasil FM radio website and was mentioned several times during programming. From the second half of September, the campaign will be revived.


The five finalists will participate in the recording of an exclusive CD of the festival. The champion band will have the opportunity to perform with a Canadian band in Brazil and win a trip to Canada.


To secure your seat at the event, purchase the tickets at

CCBC Jazz Fest Final


Date: September 30

Time: 6:00 p.m.

Location: Bourbon Street Music Club – Rua dos Chanés, 127 – Moema

Finalist Bands: Daniel Migliavacca Quartet invites Baby Kramer (PR); Flavio Iannuzi Trio (SP) – popular vote; Josiel Konrad Quartet (RJ); Trinca Brazil (DF); and Trio da Tica (SP).